I MINA'BENTE OCHO NA LIHESLATURAN GUÅHAN 2005 (FIRST) Regular Session

Resolution No. 77 (LS)

As amended.

. ,

Introduced by:

L. F. Kasperbauer R. J. Respicio <u>R. Klitzkie</u> F. B. Aguon, Jr. J. M.S. Brown Edward J.B. Calvo B. J.F. Cruz Mike Cruz Mark Forbes L. A. Leon Guerrero J. A. Lujan A. B. Palacios Ray Tenorio J. T. Won Pat A. R. Unpingco

Relative to recognizing Mrs. Gina B. Wusstig, a Department of Education 3rd Grade teacher at Daniel L. Perez Elementary School in Yigo, on the occasion of her selection as the 2005 GUAM STATE TEACHER of the Year Representative.

1 BE IT RESOLVED BY I MINA'BENTE OCHO NA LIHESLATURAN

2 GUÅHAN:

3 WHEREAS, Education is the way to a progressive and civilized society

4 and educators are essential in ensuring the continued evolution of our world;

5 and

WHEREAS, those gifted with the talent and desire to mold the minds of
 tomorrow through a most noble profession are the backbone of an educational
 system and community; and

a +

4 WHEREAS, Mrs. Gina B. Wusstig entered the vocation of educating 5 some ten and a half (10.5) years ago with a commitment to excellence in 6 education; and

WHEREAS, today, Mrs. Gina B. Wusstig a Department of Education 3rd
Grade teacher at Daniel L. Perez Elementary School in Yigo is recognized
during this 2004 -2005 Academic Year as the Guam State Representative to the
National Teacher of the Year Program by displaying exceptional dedication,
knowledge and skills as an educator; and

WHEREAS, as a result of her candidacy and selection, it is well known that Mrs. Wusstig inspires students of all backgrounds and abilities to learn; has the respect and admiration of students, parents, and colleagues; and plays an active and useful role in the community as well as in the school; as outlined in the National Teacher of the Year nomination guidelines; and

WHEREAS, a panel of judges from all ranks of education, including a
business chairperson on education, selected Mrs. Wusstig from a final list of
six (6) outstanding educators nominated for consideration as the 2005 Guam
State Teacher of the Year; and

WHEREAS, the Guam Department of Education announces Mrs. Gina
B. Wusstig as the 2005 Guam Teacher of Year and is proud to boast of Mrs.
Gina B. Wusstig abilities and dedication to education and is ready to support
her entry into the National Program; and

WHEREAS, Mrs. Wusstig joins a distinguished list of Guam Teachers of
 the Year, that include Carroll Flores – 2002; Beverly San Agustin – 2001; Josh
 Ledbetter – 2000; Barbara Gilman – 1999; Roberta Abaday – 1998; Judy
 Woytowich – 1997; Sandy Bojtos - 1996; and Jelly Flores-Bahl – 1995; now,
 therefore, be it

RESOLVED, that *I Mina'Bente Ocho Na Liheslaturan Guåhan* does hereby,
on behalf of the people of Guam, join in recognizing and congratulating Mrs.
Gina B. Wusstig, a Department of Education 3rd Grade teacher at Daniel L.
Perez Elementary School in Yigo; and be it further

10 **RESOLVED**, that the Speaker certify, and the Secretary of the 11 Legislature attest to, the adoption hereof, and that copies of the same be 12 thereafter transmitted to Mrs. Gina B. Wusstig, 2005 Guam State Teacher of 13 the Year; to Ms. Thelma M. Maquera, Principal, Daniel L. Perez Elementary 14 School; to Mr. Juan P. Flores, Superintendent of Education; and to the 15 Honorable Felix P. Camacho, *I Maga'lahen Guåhan*.

DULY AND REGULARLY ADOPTED BY I MINA'BENTE OCHO NA LIHESLATURAN GUÅHAN ON THE 20^{TH} DAY OF MAY, 2005.

ARK FORBES Speaker

EDWARD J.B. CALVO Senator and Secretary of the Legislature